The Drive to Create: “I CAN DO ANYTHING”

My inspiration for this week’s blog is a BIG career change (going back to school at age 48), Hedley’s ANYTHING and a very large cup of coffee…..

 

What inspires us?  Why do we feel this need to create?  Why do we have that drive to put something out there that says “Look at me!”

I think that there is an innate desire in everyone to create.  Whether you do it as a hobby or your occupation, it is the idea of making something that wasn’t there before.  Something that is a piece of you.

That can be very, very scary because many times you are creating something that you are going to show to the world (even if “the world” is just family and friends).

You don’t know how the world is going to react.

Sure we all want recognition.  When we create something, we want someone to shake our hand and say “Good job!”  There are very few of us who will ever create something on such a level that we can make a living at it.  That doesn’t stop the rest of us from doing it.

Take me for example.  I am a writer and a blogger.  Why do I do it?

It’s simple, or at least it is for me.  I love to write….I NEED to write.  Do I think that what I write will make me famous?

NOPE….but that doesn’t stop me because it’s not what drives me.

I write because I have something to say.

Simple as that.

Take my oldest son.  He loves to draw.  He would like to be a video game designer but for now he is happy with a sketch pad and a head full of ideas.

We both have our “bouts of inspiration”.  Unfortunately, they usually occur around 1 a.m. when we are trying to sleep. Inspiration never keeps a 9-5 schedule.

It’s almost….scratch that…it is an ADDICTION.  If you think about it, your mind is constantly thinking of new ideas, figuring out how to fine tune current projects, or wondering  if you need to rework an existing piece.

For those who know us, at best we amuse them.  At worst, they wonder if they will see us that week.  My husband has come to accept the fact when I say that I am going to do some writing, is his cue that he will not see me for the rest of the evening.  He has his own activities, so it does work out.

I think that the best thing that you can take from all of this, is that you should embrace it. Take that creative energy and make something SPECTACULAR!

Here are some simple tips to remember:

  1. There is no such thing as a BAD creative project.  One of the first things that I learned about writing is that it is EXPECTED that you will write poorly.  It gets the gears working so that you can mold your idea into something tangible.
  2.  TAKE RISKS.  Self-doubt can either cause you to freeze up or motivate you to give something new a try.
  3. Expect things to go wrong the first time around.  Life is all about learning.  As cliché as it may be to say it, take your mistakes and learn from them.
  4. True, not everyone will like what you do.  On the other hand, there WILL be others that love it.  Don’t use this as a motivator.  Do it because YOU LOVE IT.

Feel free to keep your creation to yourself, but honestly, if you are going to create something, it’s best if you share it.

So here is your chance.

Tell me something that you have created.  If it is something that you have posted online, feel free to provide a link so that others who see this blog can check it out.

GO AND BE AWESOME

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved

About Me…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Drive to Create: “I CAN DO ANYTHING”

Leave a Reply

