What happens when you plan something and it doesn’t work out?  Do you question what you did wrong?

Of course you do.  It’s only natural.

What do you do after that?

You can dwell on the fact that things didn’t go as smoothly, or you can make the best of it and roll with it.

256px-stipula_fountain_pen

That’s where I found myself when it came to today’s post.  A week ago I put out a request on WordPress and Twitter, asking for those in the field of writing to share some advice.  I don’t have a big following, but I hoped that I would get enough responses to make a post out of it.

Only two bloggers responded.

I came to conclusion that even though there appeared to be an interest (views, retweets and such), that maybe it just wasn’t a great idea to just “put out there.”  Maybe I am just not big enough.

You know what?  That’s okay.  My motto is…”Nothing is ever lost by trying.”

I do have the two bloggers who have helped me out and I would like to share their advice, as well as give my own “two cents” on it.  I really appreciate their contribution.

From Andrew who runs a great writing site called The Idiot In Tin Foil ,

Write. Just write. It doesn’t matter if nobody is going to see it, it doesn’t matter if it’s on the back of a napkin. Just get it down. There’s a reason that editors exist, after all.

I love that last bit.  As someone who picks at every word I put down (which is why it takes so long for me to get things done sometimes), he is write…I mean correct. ;).  I took an online writing course and one of the first things we learned was that it’s okay to write badly, just as long as you write.  You can make it pretty later.

My second blogger is someone who is new to me, Gospel Isosceles, whose site is a mix of thoughts and poetry.  Her advice,

Avoid clichés. The only way to know if you are using clichés or not is to read a lot, and listen to what’s going on around you. Like prayer, so much of effective writing is just being attentive and honest.

Clichés are one of the biggest traps in writing.  It’s also one of the easiest crutches to use.  Pay attention to not only what you are trying to say but how you say it.  Would you talk that way if you telling someone instead of writing it down?  Like she said, pay attention and be honest with your message.

256px-stipula_fountain_pen

Thanks again to both of these bloggers for helping me out.  I am glad that I did this.

🙂  Feel free to leave a message in the comment section below or reply to me on Twitter.

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Feature image from Pixabay

Pen image from PowerofWordsbyAntonioLitterio

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

12 thoughts on “Writing Advice Update

Leave a Reply

