I watch you both

You never see it

I watch the babes grow to children

I watch the children grow to teens

You will not notice it

The changes are small

Until now I coloured the grey

Under hues of bright red

Now I let it come through

Each strand tells a tale

As each wrinkle tells a story

That one?

That’s fear the first time you were sick

Hoping that I was doing things right

Until you were better

This one?

I was so angry

How DARE you talk back young man!

How DARE you go from obedient child

To rebellious teen!

Those ones here and here?

Those are laugh lines

They are the biggest ones on my face

Stories of hugs and praise

Of cuddles and jokes

I plan to add many more before my time is gone

I plan to see the grey turn to white

As your stories continue to grow

From teens to men

Maybe even from men to fathers

I wear the grey and wrinkles with pride

They are my badges of honor

My story

From me to both of you.

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

