I’m a cartoon junkie!

Hi, my name is Tina.  I’m 48 years old and a cartoon junkie.

AND DAMN PROUD OF IT!!   🙂

First of all, I just found out that Young Justice is coming back with a Season 3 and I am totally stoked!  I introduced my 13-year-old to the series (thanks Netflix!), so we are a couple of happy campers.   🙂

Now back to my topic.  I love cartoons.  For example, I have watched pretty much every DC animated movie out there.  If it’s animated, I’m all over it, and I’m not just talking about the more adult-oriented stuff out there that you wouldn’t let your 8-year-old watch.  I’m talking the stuff that I grew up with and still watch today.  Looney Tunes and Pinky and the Brain (met the incredible Rob Paulsen, Maurice LaMarche and Bill Farmer this year at Fan Expo).  X-Men (check out the X-Men:TAS blog put out by none other than the very cool team of Eric and Julia Lewald, total fangirl squeal when I found this) and Robotech (now on Netflix, as is X-Men).    I’ve binge-watched Teen Titans and Scooby-Doo with the same 13-year-old.

I’ve even loved the cartoons that my kids watched when they were younger, like Phineas and Ferb (miss those guys!) and the Total Drama Island series (met some of the cast members over the years, very talented bunch).

I will also share my opinion when a beloved cartoon gets rebooted (loving the new Voltron).

While there has been improvements in animation technology, I think that one of the big reasons why I love these cartoons is simple…

AWESOME STORIES!

As we all know, you can have a show that is visually amazing that still falls flat if it lacks in the story department.  If there was a good story to tell, I am all in.

So it should come as no surprise when I say that my favourites have the whole package.  Visually awesome with stories and characters that you could connect with and care about.  That is why they are so memorable.

I also have to mention the voice actors.  I have talked about them before in my post about the SAG-AFTRA strike, and how much respect I have for them.

I will never get tired of these animated gems and will continue to watch them for years to come.

So what about you?  Do you have a favourite cartoon that you remember watching as a kid or watch now with (or without) your kids?  I would love to hear about it!

You know what to do.  Comment below or find me on Twitter or my Facebook page in About Me….

Until next time Super Friends!  Narf!     😉

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

6 thoughts on “I’m a cartoon junkie!

  1. We are major cartoon junkies here as well. We love Kim Possible, Phinas and Ferb, Rescue Bots, Wild Kratts, Animaniacs, Almost every Disney Channel or Disney Jr cartoon you can think of as well, and the old cartoon network tv shows.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

