Woo Hoo!  Yesterday I cracked the 40,000 word mark for NaNoWriMo 2016!

Given how far behind I was, I really didn’t think that it was going to happen.  I just found my grove, did a few big writing sessions and well, there it was!

fortyk_earned

I’m not done yet, there are still 10,000 words to go.

My advice on these final few days….

DON’T GIVE UP ON YOURSELF OR YOUR STORY

Since this was my first full-out NaNoWriMo challenge, I really did want to make the 50,000 word goal.  I wanted it to be with a story that I could continue to mold and work on into December.

IGNORE THE WORD COUNT

Turn off the part of your mind that keeps looking at the numbers and just get the story out.  I ended up getting so into a scene, that I actually passed the 40,000 mark and didn’t even realize it.

REMEMBER WHY YOU ARE DOING IT

I have two goals, to have a workable first draft and to make the word count.  The word count goal was to push myself outside of my comfort zone, as I’m not normally a fast writer. What I learned was not to dwell on all the bits and the self-doubt, and just try to tell a good story.

HAVE FUN!!

Like anything in life, if you can’t find something positive in the task that you are doing, then it will be that much harder to achieve it.

I hope that for my next WRITER post I will be able to proudly show the WINNER badge.  I know that I won’t feel comfortable until I definitely have it, but that drive will keep me going for the final days.  Until then…

GOOD LUCK FELLOW WRITERS IN WHATEVER CHALLENGES YOU FACE!!

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

 

Leave a Reply

