I Won!….Now what??

Well, I did it!  I won my first full-out NaNoWriMo.  I have done the Camps before, but they are nothing like this.       😉

I’ve already bombarded my social media sites with my badge and did a bit of a happy dance.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner_congrats

giphy-1

via Giphy

Now what do I do??

First off, BREATHE.  I have always talked about wanting to write a book.  Now that I have done this, I am going to have to put my money where my mouth is.  I have a long way to go before this 50,000 word draft turns into a real live published piece.  For now, I will take it one step at a time.  The pressure is off for a little while, so I will take this time to go through, clean up, add stuff, and build it up to where it needs to be.

I have learned so much from this process.

One, I am a total hermit as a writer.  It’s probably just nerves, but I huddled in my little corner of the living room, put on my headphones, and didn’t move.  I never did a write-in, though I did attend my local kick-off.  I will probably get out more now that this first deadline is met.

Two, my family is very patient with me.  They gave me my space and let me do my thing, fully supporting me all the way.  They are amazing!  People that know me, or even just fellow writers on social media were a great support network too, especially on those days that I spent banging my head on the keyboard wondering what the hell I was doing.      😉

Three, this challenge forces you to organize yourself, and focus on the story that you want to tell.  I am better at my craft than I was a month ago, just because of what I have learned in the last 30 days.

Finally, I am no longer a pantser.  I did an outline beforehand, and though it was changed in areas, it gave me the focus that I needed to get my project done.  I believe that the new term I can use is plantser (I have a plan, but I am flexible with it).

So, to all of you who did NaNoWriMo this year, congratulations on your accomplishments!  I know that you worked hard at what you created, and I hope that you are happy with how things turned out.

You should be proud of yourself!  I know that I am!           🙂

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

9 thoughts on “I Won!….Now what??

Leave a Reply

