Last Post and 2016 Year in Review

Disclaimer: the following is meant to be full of the “s” word.  Yep, SARCASM.   😉

Another year has come to a close.  A year full of surprises.  It has been a crazy year for me, so I thought that I would give you a tongue-in-cheek countdown of my year in review.

Today will be the my last post until 2017.  

You’re welcome.   🙂

Here, in no particular order, are my Top 10 List of Things that I have accomplished this year, with some advicey type stuff thrown in.

#10 – I haven’t sold my kids.  While I have had some REALLY good offers from a few shady characters, I will be going into 2017 with two teens that are still eating me out of house and home.  On the flip side, they haven’t taken off to go live with my mom, who would probably be a lot nicer and less sarcastic towards them.

#9 – I’m still married.  While I’ve no doubt given my hubby plenty of reason to question why HE is still married to ME, we are still together.  Beyoncé calls it Crazy in Love.  Personally, I think that we are just both crazy.

#8 –  I quit my 9-5 office job with benefits and pension to go back to school, because that is what any rational 48-year-old should do.  Again, I am able to do it because of my crazy husband and kids.  After all the planning I still can’t believe that it’s finally happened.  I am equal parts happy, feeling guilty and scared.

#7 – I have started to write my first book, thanks to NaNoWriMo.  Lots of work to do and now I actually have the time to do it.

#6 – I’ve put a hit out on the guy known as 2016.  I mean SERIOUSLY, he’s going to pay for all of the amazing celebrities and personalities that we have lost this year.

#5 – I started THIS BLOG.  Yeah, this one.  The one that you are reading right now.  Kinda cool huh.

#4 – I have become more comfortable using social media and as a result, have made some awesome new friends.

YEAH.  I’M POINTING AT YOU.  YOU.ARE.AWESOME.  Thanks for reading my stuff and not trying to get me locked away somewhere in a room with padded walls.

Image result for you are awesome pic

#3 – I’m more comfortable in my own skin.  To be honest, I am more happy as an overweight, grey-haired and wrinkled 48-year-old than I ever was as a 20 something with all my life before me.  To those who fall into the 20 something category, and are wondering where your life will take you, enjoy the ride.  It will all work out in the end, I promise.  To you 40 somethings wondering the same, buckle up baby, ya ain’t done yet.   🙂

#2 – Money can’t buy happiness, but it can buy wine…and chocolate.

My husband and I are very practical people.  We both came from single parent backgrounds and if there’s one thing that we have learned from our moms is that you need to be practical, but never pass up a good thing when it happens.  It’s all about balance.  Don’t  be so focused on what you “should” do that you miss out on what you “want” to do.

#1 – I have learned to fight my fears.  It’s a struggle, some days I want to hide away, but then I realize that I am only short-changing myself if I do.  I’m an introverted extrovert, so it’s not always “natural” for me to put myself out there.  In doing so, I have gained confidence, and am a better wife and mother.  Nothing ventured, nothing gained as the saying goes.

So, there you have it folks, my year in a nutshell!

I hope that you all have a wonderful holiday season filled with all the things that make this time of year great.  Family, friends and FUN!  I look forward to seeing you all in the New Year!!

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

4 thoughts on “Last Post and 2016 Year in Review

Leave a Reply

