This isn’t a “typical” post for me because it doesn’t really fall into one of my categories (Geek,  Mother, Writer or Space), but I thought that it would be fun to write about something different for a change, so here it is.

elegant-1769669_1280

One of the best things about WordPress and social media in general, is the opportunity that it gives you to meet people from all over the world.  I have chatted with people from the US, South Africa, the UK, India, just to name a few places.

earth-11009_1280

Me, I’m Canadian.  I live in the city of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada, which is one of the best places in the world.

For starters, here is where I met my husband.  We were in the same Sci-Fi club at university.  He was in Computing and I was in Business.  If it wasn’t for the club, we probably would never have met.  This same club introduced me to a group of crazy people who have become lifelong friends, even when geography and circumstance have caused us to go our separate ways (another shout out to social media for giving us the chance to keep in touch).

We live on the edge of the city.

Five minutes one way and we are downtown, surrounded by restaurants, shops, movie theatres, all of the conveniences of an urban area.

Five minutes the other way we are in the country.  Farmland, horses, cows, and the familiar Mennonite buggies.

256px-home_depot_-_waterloo_ontario

I am a stone throw’s distance from Canada’s largest year-round farmers’ market, the St. Jacob’s Farmers’ Market.  I do have sympathy for anyone who doesn’t have access to such an amazing place.  We are very spoiled here.

Waterloo boasts two universities and a college.  It’s also a tech city.  Between the students and technology sector, I live in a town of endless coffee shops, pubs and pizza places.  I’m in heaven!

I live in a neighbourhood where the human to dog ratio is probably 2:1 in favour of the dogs.  Everyone in my neighbourhood says hi when they are out for their evening walks.  We have kids that play street hockey, although that can be a mixed blessing (when they don’t move or cars come down the road too fast).

Downtown, on a summer night, you can hear live music from a restaurant, sit outside and enjoy of coffee with friends in an outdoor common area (pictured above), walk through a park, or take in a movie from an independent theatre that’s been here for as long as I can remember.

It’s very family friendly, with everything from restaurants to a huge number of summer camp opportunities.

Is it a perfect city?

No.  We are currently in the middle of a light rail transit project.  Right now, we are the perfect example of the stereotype that states that Canada has only two seasons….

Winter and construction.  😉

I think that once we get used to it, it will be a great service…if it doesn’t drive us all to madness first.   😉

We have all the woes of an urban area, but all in all, I love it here and couldn’t imagine being anywhere else.

I think that finding that “perfect place” is something that we all look for at some point in our lives and for me, Waterloo is it.

Thanks for taking the time to let me share a bit about my little piece of the planet.  I hope that wherever you are, that you have the same sense of belonging and comfort that I have.  If you haven’t found it yet, give it time, you will.

Until Friday my friends…

-Tina

Feature Image– By Area256 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Home Depot sign image- By Richard apple (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

World image courtesy of NASA

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Home Town

Leave a Reply

