I wish that I could remember the name of the person whose article I recently read, who said that she despises the word “aspiring” writer.  I believe her point is that either you ARE a writer or you’re NOT.

“Do or do not, there is no try.” – Yoda

(Wise words, little green dude).

So, I guess that I have to say that I am a writer.  While I know that the type of blogging that I do isn’t the same as writing a book, the fact that I AM writing a book AND I’m a blogger, well, I think that I can say WRITER with certainty  now.  If anything, blogging has made me a better writer.  My reasons for blogging are many, but in short, I always saw this, as well as taking part in NaNoWriMo, as stepping-stones to actually putting a book out there.  Funny thing is, I have enjoyed both so much that I don’t plan on stopping either one.

Since the end of November, I have been working on my draft.  I am almost finished the first rewrite, which in this case, involves reading through everything to check for continuity, tweaking some plot areas and cleaning it up a bit.  This will give me a better base to go off of then the 50,000 word crazy piece that I put together in one month.  I do have a complete storyline, with an ending that can just stop if the book doesn’t do well, or it actually ends in a way that I can move on to a sequel with some of my key characters.

I’m kind of proud with how that part turned out.   🙂

It’s a supernatural story, with a twist on the werewolf theme.  I have tried to make the focus more the character relationships, with the supernatural aspect being the focal point that ties these people together.  Out of my seven main characters, four are women, and I have some other secondary characters that I may be changing a bit.

I have A LOT to add to it to bring it up to novel length, but I am working more on story than the work count right now, so it will get there.

I am using my nervousness of creating my first book as a motivator to keep me going.  I have no aspirations of becoming another Stephen King or J.K. Rowling, I just want to write a good story.

I am in good company.  I have writers that I talk to or read their thoughts here on WordPress, on Twitter and in my personal life.  They range from individuals who have just put out their first book, to established writers who have a number of books already published.  They range in genres too, from horror to sci-fi, fantasy to non-fiction.

I will get to join their ranks someday.

In the meantime, I will occasionally let you guys know how the book is doing.  Eventually, I may even share some characters or ideas.  Until then, here is what I put on my NaNoWriMO site, where we had to give a synopsis and an excerpt from our story.  The excerpt has changed a little bit, but the essence of the scene is still there.  My feature image is the working title.

I hope that you like it.

 Synopsis

A horrific incident turns Raiman’s otherwise normal life upside down and opens up a frightening new world.  Along with her new friend Sam, will she be able to cope with this change, or will it drive her mad? 

Excerpt

Her skin felt weird.  Her head hurt.  Her stomach felt queasy.  She went to the bathroom and dry heaved.  Coming out, she decided to try to eat crackers or something to settle her stomach. She started to open cupboards and rummaged through its contents.  Nothing appealed to her.  She opened the fridge and stared.  Her eye caught the raw chicken from earlier.  Without really thinking about it, she grabbed the container and opened it.  She shoved a piece in her mouth and chewed.  It was rubbery and a little sweet.  She enjoyed the raw flesh and took her time before swallowing.  Soon it was finished off and she found herself looking for more.

 

As always, thanks for stopping by, and I hope that everyone has a fantastic weekend!

-Tina

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)

About Me…

 

 

13 thoughts on “So, I’m a writer…

  1. I really liked that excerpt, it built suspense for more, to be cheesy!! 😉 My mum’s a writer and everyone always looks at her a bit funny when she says that’s her full-time job, for some reason people don’t respect it as a full-time profession! I agree with having a problem with the phrase ‘aspiring writer’- when do you reach ‘fully-qualified writer’- if you write and you enjoy it and maybe even get some work published- you’re a writer! 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting excerpt! I think both the title and the synopsis leave a bit to be desired but that excerpt was pretty awesome. I got into the scene right away. You’ve got a story with some serious potential here, so good luck! I’ll be here supporting you and looking forward to more snippets from your story ;D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

