A Writer’s Conversation with Her Madness

While I sometimes like to write a poem without giving the “story” behind it, in this case I wanted to do a dark poem about writing.  I wanted to try to make the passionate urge/fear of writing something tangible.

It’s a conversation between a writer and that feeling, which slowly drives her mad.

flourish-31609_1280-1

You ooze out of my skin

I will slice you and leave scars

That itch and sting

Do I make you uncomfortable?

You take glee in knowing that I….

You have no immunity to me

That I will fall ill to your poison

Again and again

For every small triumph over you

I will make you suffer more

You grow like a tumour in my head

You are ever aware of my presence

But you are too small to cut out

Lest you slice that part of your brain

That holds my sanity

That precious sanity

That I cling to like a babe to its mother

That I’m so quick to steal from you

So in darkness I fall

‘Til the day comes when you say

NO MORE!

And you quietly give into madness

Pausing just long enough to hear you say

“What took you so long?”

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)- images from Pixabay

About Me…

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Writer’s Conversation with Her Madness

Leave a Reply

