When you give up Despair

You are left with Hope

When you give up Anger

You are left with Forgiveness

When you give up Prejudice

You are left with Understanding

northern-lights-1149868_1920

I have my opinions about things, as everyone has.

For example, I hate racism, homophobia, religious persecution and spiders.

Someone will no doubt think that I have made light of the above sentence because I mentioned the spiders.

I have probably angered someone by my poem.

elegant-1769669_1280

We live in a world of eggshells.

We live in a world of anger.

But guess what?  So did our parents…and their parents….and their parents’ parents…

elegant-1769669_1280

The same world that gave us the Black Plague, gave us the Polio vaccine.

The same world that gave us Hitler, gave us Shakespeare.

The same world that gave us the atomic bomb, gave us a chance to live on Mars.

elegant-1769669_1280

For every great loss, we find ourselves.

For every tear of sorrow, there will be a tear of joy.

For every fist of anger, there will be a hand of kindness.

elegant-1769669_1280

We have outlived wars, plagues and atrocities.

WE ARE STILL HERE.

WE GOT THIS.

elegant-1769669_1280

I learned a long time ago that if you let your hardships rule you, then they win.

I have learned instead to kick their ass to the curb.

elegant-1769669_1280

Keep Hope.  Keep Faith in Humanity.  Keep Believing.

I wanted to end this with a music video and those boys from Jersey gave me just what I was looking for.

Keep the Faith everyone.

Text © Written In Geek blog (2016) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2016)- feature image courtesy of Pixabay

video courtesy of YouTube

About Me…

8 thoughts on “When You Give Up…

  1. Fantastic post. I loved the poem, it was raw and heartfelt, and I loved your comments dispersed throughout the post. It’s a cruel and hard world, but like you said, we have survived it thus far. There is hope. And there is goodness everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely agree with you! Although I tend to think spiders are cute 🙂 There is hope in every person and every situation…the universe is balanced that way! Beautiful words to my day and awesome song choice with good ol’ Jon! Keep spreading the love.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

