Clichés and pieces

I have been binge-watching the series Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I am currently listening to the soundtrack (my muse today).  This song came on and inspired the following:

 

Clichés and pieces

 

Did you mean to break me?

 

They say that the eyes

Are the windows to the soul

My eyes are empty

 

You shattered me

Left pieces so fine

That the wind carried them away

 

Is this where I tell you

That you were my everything?

 

You used me like a cliché

My meaning was hollow

 

Do you feel anything?

Did you ever or was this

Just you playing the hero?

 

Did you believe

That you were rescuing me?

 

Ashes to ashes

Dust to dust

But you will still be here

 

I can only hope

That one day

You will become

Someone’s cliché

 

Maybe then

You will think of me

 

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)-feature image courtesy of Pixabay

About Me…

3 thoughts on “Clichés and pieces

  1. Buffy is my hero! I can basically quote every episode 😀 Plus I still carry a wooden stake with me wherever I go…not easy to explain…especially when it falls out of your bag in front of a class of your students,lol! Lovely poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

