When I was younger (MANY years ago), I loved to listen to stories on the radio.  Paul Harvey‘s The Rest of the Story, was one of the ones that I remember the most.  Harvey’s stories were great, and I would try to figure out who he was talking about before his story finished.  For this kid, I loved his voice and how he told his tales.

Now to just get off topic for a minute….

As a kid, I never listened to any of Mr. Harvey’s views on politics and religion.  Checking him out for this post, I found things that I agreed with and things that I didn’t.  What I will say is, he made you think.  It’s no wonder that he made such an impact.  It’s unfortunate that he passed away in 2009 (he was 90 years old).  He would have a field day with today’s world views.

Now back to The Rest of the Story….

Excerpt from Wikipedia (full article above)- …consisted of stories presented as little-known or forgotten facts on a variety of subjects with some key element of the story (usually the name of some well-known person) held back until the end…

Thanks to YouTube and another link below, you can find some clips of some of his tales.  I thought that it would be fun to share a few of them with you.  Keeping with the GEEK and WRITER themes, can you guess who Paul is talking about?

You may be surprised.    🙂

 

This is a link to a list of many more of Paul’s tales.  His books and audio cds can also be purchased on Amazon.

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)-feature image courtesy of Pixabay

About Me…

2 thoughts on “The Rest of the Story: The Tales of Paul Harvey

  1. Knew the first one was Doyle almost right away. Did not know the last two until very late.

    Paul Harvey was great. A radio legend unlike anyone today or anyone likely to come again. I would always stop what I was doing when his voice came on WGN.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

