HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!

Today is my Mom’s 73rd birthday.

I would like to put the focus of this post on the woman who brought me into this world, MY MOM.  I am the woman that I am today because of her.

While she is on social media, she is a private woman in many ways, so I won’t be sharing a lot of personal stuff about her life with you.  However, I will give you a bit of an insight on how it has affected me.

My mom was born in England and raised a farm girl in rural Nova Scotia with four siblings.  She learned early on that you get nothing in life if you don’t work hard for it.  She was also a single mom.  She did eventually get remarried to a guy who is pretty amazing too.    😉

So, just how awesome is she?

Well, being a single parent is tough, and I know that my mom went through a lot.  She was a single mom during a time when there were not a lot of support systems in place for women like her.  I can never imagine what it was like, even if I knew all the details.  All I know is that she instilled in me the value of self-worth, and learning to be independent and take chances.

I took off to travel Europe in my early twenties.  I inherited my love of travel from her.  I traveled on my  own a lot, which gave her more than a few sleepless nights (sorry Mom), but gave me experiences that I will always treasure.

I used to be someone who planned out their life five years in advance.  That has changed over the years, and I have taken risks that I never would have taken if it wasn’t for her.

First of all, I fell in love.  I have had a few wonderful men in my life, but this guy ended up becoming THE ONE.  Taking this chance was a big deal for me.  Seeing my Mom fall in love and get married again really influenced me.  I thought that I would always be single.

I learned that life is too short not to live it as you want.  Mom never got that chance when my brother and I were younger.  Since then, she has traveled all over the world and I believe that she now has the life that she always deserved.  I know that I haven’t turned out quite like she hoped.  Giving up a full-time job at the age of 48 to go back to school really bothered her, even if she won’t admit it.  She knows that I am in a position to be able to do this (thanks to a wonderful husband and financial stability), but I think that seeing me give up that type of independence was hard to accept.  I totally get it, and hope that she realizes that I will still make her proud.

They always say that as parents, we want our kids to have a better life than we did.

MOM, I have a better life and have become a better person because of you.

I realize, like most of us, that we don’t always tell those we love just how much they mean to us.  So, I am going to do it the best way that I know how.

A few words for you Mom.

baby-37519_1280

You will never truly know, how much you mean to me

No cards nor flowers, no I LOVE YOUs, will ever really be

Enough to THANK YOU for everything

For all that I AM and WILL BE

HAPPY BIRTHDAY 

Love, Tina.

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)- images courtesy of Pixabay.

 

About Me…

2 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!

Leave a Reply

