HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!!

So…where to start.

First of all, I am continuing to work on my first book.  The fact that I haven’t been sharing anything, has more to do with my shyness than anything else.  Currently, the working title is still SCARS, but we’ll see if that changes down the road.

What I can say, is that I did a total rewrite of how two of my main characters, Raiman and Tony, meet.  This was a situation that I’ve gone back and forth on for a while.  I knew where I wanted things to end up, I even wrote that part down, but the “how they met” didn’t quit fit.  I had given my main character, Raiman, an unintentional case of “Stockholm syndrome”, feeling sympathy for someone who she shouldn’t, and that…well, that just wasn’t going to happen.   🙂

In changing this, I came up with a connection that wasn’t even in the picture when I started.  I like how it’s worked out.  It gives the reader a better understanding of why these two have connected, and why they end up doing the things that they do.  I am playing on the idea that some connections “just are”, call if Fate.  Even with an actual event that ties them together, the relationship evolves due to feelings that go beyound what’s on the surface.  This train of thought is something that my main character, Raiman, and the reader, discouver together.

Although my setting is supernatural in the real world, I have created two other characters that have views that are rooted in the very real world of prejudice, judging others on what they are, rather than who they are.

I have written the ending with the plan to have a sequel, and this prejudice notion is something that I plan to make a part of this world that I have created.

Like I mentioned, the genre is supernatural, in this case, werewolves.  The werewolf idea is not a new one, but I hope that readers find my explanation of how a werewolf is created, different from what they have read before.  The story is more of Raiman’s journey, than of full moons and fur.   🙂

My biggest hurdle is the word count.  I am sitting at just over 52,000, and while I have areas to fill out, my overall length isn’t huge.  I blame the way that I write.  I have a knack for pairing things down, stripping it down to the essentials.  That’s great for editing, not so great for description.

I think that I will enlist the help of a couple of friends of mine who are local authors.  One of them has already offered to help me out after I beta read his last book.  Of course, this will only happen when the I can use the words “free” and “time” together.  🙂  🙂

My school work is keeping me busier than I thought, which isn’t a bad thing.  I am LOVING my Library Tech program, so it’s all good.

I am currently using a text-to-speech program in Word to read my draft.  IT’S BEEN AWESOME!  I highly recommend it!  I have caught spelling/grammar errors, continuity blips and filled out spots that I never caught just doing a read through.

I have been approached by someone local that I know, who is a trained voice actress (we knew each other from my time with the library).  She saw my post on using the text-to-speech, and offered her services.  Could this mean a future audiobook for me???  Even though she’s aware that this is a LONG WAY OFF, I was thrilled with her offer.   🙂

I do have one question to my fellow blogging authors out there.  I would like to share specifics about my book to generate interest, but just how much information is too much?  I would like to share details, but I don’t want to give too much away.  Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance!

My feature picture is my favourite spot in the house, my CORNER OF CHAOS…

JUST ADD COFFEE.  🙂

Well, thanks as always guys for dropping by!

I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend!

-Tina

 

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)

About Me…

4 thoughts on “Novel Update Ramblings

  1. I have the same issues with my writing — either stripping it down, or adding in, too much. Somewhere along the line, with patience and re-drafting, I get a good balance. Sure you will do too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

