Yeah, this is LONG overdue.

Really, this is something that I should have started earlier, but I, the newbie novelist that I am, thought that I could fix all the swiss cheese-inspired holes in my story just by re-reading it a million times and sticking bits and pieces in.

Silly human.  🙂

When I wrote my first draft in November for NaNoWriMo, I did an outline.  While it’s changed since then, the outline gave me a chance to stay on track and not feel overwhelmed by the number of words that I was putting out.

I learned the idea of the outline from meeting author Terry Fallis at a Kitchener Public Libary NaNoWriMo event.  When it comes to doing something as big as writing my first novel, I needed a bit of guidance to help keep me sane.

HELLLOOOO PLANTSER!!!!  Yep, that’s me. 🙂

So after spending WAY TOO MUCH TIME fidgeting over my draft, I am finally going to get an updated outline done.  I’m going to go chapter-by-chapter on this.  I have some continuity issues that need clarifying, but my biggest challenge is to give some more back story to some key characters to help the reader understand their actions/motivations.

My biggest weakness is that I like to cut things down, which is great for editing….not so much for the drafting stage.

It’s my hope that by breaking up my story with this type of outline, I’ll fill out my story more, and just have everything work together in a smoother fashion.  Upping the ol’ word count is something that I need to do too.

This should allow me to get back on track with my writing, and make better use of my time.  I am also going to focus on poetry and short story writing more.  I have become involved with Simon J. Wood’s flash fiction group (which I have been neglecting), and Mar at The Bold Mom, has posted some of my dark poetry on her site.  Having a better writing schedule, will allow me to juggle all three, while keeping up with school, job-hunting and family time.

Wish me luck!!

 

How about you guys?  Are you a planning dynamo, or do you thrive on bursts of spontaneous creativity?  Or are you like me, a little bit of both?  Let me know!

 

I also just wanted to mention that Adam of Write Thoughts, nominated me for the Entertainer Blogger Award.

I am a Award Free Blog, but I was flattered by the mention and wanted to share Adam’s site and the other bloggers that he nominated.  He offers some great posts on writing and book reviews and well, is just a really awesome guy, so go check out his site!

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)- feature image courtesy of Pixabay.

About Me…

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Updating my Outline

  1. I’m with you on being a plantser. When I started my current novel (three versions ago), I pantsed it. I was foolish enough to think that what worked for me with short stories and flash fiction would work with a novel too. But, no, it did not. Even after I finally capitulated and worked out an outline, I still found myself changing the story drastically as I wrote (I call that “working it out on the page”).

    After making a mess of things, I went back and wrote a new story plan. I still worked some things out on the page (which is probably always going to be the case) but was much more efficient with my process this time around. At the moment, I’m reworking my draft to incorporate any changes that came along later.

    In the future, I’d like to outline much more deeply. It’d be so much easier to work through big plot changes before I completed most or all of a draft.

    I also nominated you for a blog award. *ahem* before I saw that you are a no award blog. *blush*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the thought. I totally agree with everything that you have said. I’m going to take my time with this story. I really enjoy writing it and really want to see it published. …eventually. 😊 In the meantime, I will work on poetry, flash fiction and reading every bit of writing advice that I can get. Good luck with your work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

