Hi everyone!

Here is another 300 word flash fiction story that I wrote for Simon J. Wood‘s biweekly challenge.  Hope you like it!

The first word had to be Not, with want and legend in the body of the story.

flourish-31609_1280-1

Forever

Not that long ago, the mere sound of his name terrorized the world.

Well, that was then…

“I was bloody famous once.”  He stops and bursts into a laugh.  “HA!  Get it? “BLOODY famous?”  Stumbling around, he continues to mumble to himself.  I roll my eyes and down another shot.  I was always a simple man.  Didn’t want much.  Just immortality.  Well, forever isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be.  Abraham smirks and hands me another drink, shaking his head.  As far as he’s concerned, this life is exactly what I deserved.  Vlad’s mind has been gone for the past forty years now.  Before that, the world was ours.  But it stopped believing in a legend like him, and that’s what broke him.

I suddenly realize that I’m being watched.  “Back off you ancient windbag.” I caution, wanting to drink in peace.  He ignores me and continues to approach, black cloak raised.  I know what that look of his can still do to me, so I refuse to turn around. Realizing that I’m not giving in, he stops, lets out a hiss, and begins to slink around the bar.  He still thinks that he looks menacing, although they all laugh at him now.  I just don’t have the heart to tell him otherwise.

I finally finish my last drink and stand up, tossing a handful of bills on the counter.  Time to go.  “Come on, master,” I say halfheartedly.  Walking over, I take him by the shoulders and begin to steer him towards the exit.  “Night Abe!” I call out to the bartender.  “Night Renfield!” he calls back.  “See you tomorrow night?”  I nod.  Where else would we be? I sigh, watching as the carriage pulls up.  We climb in and make it home just before the sunrise.

 

 

Text © Written In Geek blog (2017) All rights reserved
Pictures © Written In Geek blog, used with subject’s permission or under public domain (2017)- images courtesy of Pixabay.

About Me…

 

3 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Forever

Leave a Reply

